30 minutes if the work lasts more than 6 hours during a calendar day. However, if an employer allows breaks, the break time must be paid. This includes the time called lunch or rest break of five to 20 minutes. These intervals are considered part of the working day and must be compensated. There are no state laws that require an employer to take a break. However, in accordance with federal law, breaks, which generally last less than twenty (20) minutes, must be paid if an employer so wishes. DOL: Breaks and meal times. All employees are entitled to 20 minutes of meal time in a six-hour shift and 30 minutes of meal time in an eight-hour shift. Applicable to any employer. Meal times are required if employees are not entitled to the necessary breaks and/or if they are allowed to have lunch while working. No employee is required to work more than five consecutive hours without a meal time.
Short rest periods, usually of 20 minutes or less, are common in the industry (and promote employee performance) and are usually paid as working time. These short periods should be counted as hours worked. Bona fide meal times (usually 30 minutes or more) generally do not need to be compensated as working time. The employee must be completely relieved of his or her duties for regular meals. The employee is not relieved if he has to perform active or inactive tasks while eating. An employee who works for one hour of meals must be paid for the hours worked. 1/2 hour, with the exception of any obligation, for each work period of 6 to 8 hours, between the 2nd and 5th hour for a work period of 7 hours or less and between the 3rd and 6th hour for a work period of more than 7 hours; or, less than an hour and a half, but not less than 20 minutes, against payment, with exemption from any obligation, if the employer can prove that this paid meal time is a practice or habit of the industry; or, if the employer can prove that the nature of the work prevents the all obligations from being relieved, one hour of meals with pay during service for any period of 6 to 8 hours. Connecticut labor laws require employers to provide their employees with an hour of meals of at least thirty (30) consecutive minutes if they have worked seven and a half (71/2) hours or more consecutively. This period must be indicated at some point after the first two (2) hours of work and before the last two (2) hours. The Labor Commissioner exempts an employer from this requirement if one of the following conditions is met: Connecticut has regulations that describe the meals/lunch breaks of the workday that must be provided to employees, but does not require employees to be given additional and shorter break times. On this page you will find details about the requirements for meal times in Connecticut. 15-minute break for 4 to 6 consecutive hours or a 30-minute break for more than 6 consecutive hours.
If an employee works 8 consecutive hours or more, the employer must provide a 30-minute break and an additional 15-minute break for each additional 4 consecutive hours of work. Most of us are used to taking a break for lunch or at least a break during the workday. This “free time” allows us to catch our breath, have something to eat and recharge our batteries for the rest of the working day. But did you know that mandatory meal breaks or breaks vary from state to state? Hotel maids may not need to work during a break. The break area must be equipped with adequate seating and tables in a clean and comfortable environment. Drinking water must be provided free of charge. The employer must keep complete and accurate records of break times. 1 hour in factories, 45 minutes in other factories, in the middle of the shift, for employees over 6 hours from 13:00 and 6:00 in the morning. Many employees (and employers) would be surprised to learn that under federal law, employees are NOT automatically entitled to a lunch or break during the workday. On the surface, it makes economic sense to offer such breaks, as exhausted or hungry employees can`t always give customers a positive impression of the company, but federal law doesn`t require it.
State law is different. Connecticut is one of 19 states where employees must provide 30 minutes of unpaid leave if an employee has worked at least seven and a half consecutive hours during their shift. The law also stipulates that this break must take place at least two hours after the advertisement to work and at least two hours before the end of their shift. At least 20 minutes, no later than 5 hours after the start of working hours, to employees who work 7 and a half hours uninterrupted or more. Excluded are certain professional employees certified by the State Council of Education and all employers who provide a total of 30 minutes or more of paid rest or meals in each 7 and a half hour working time. An hourly and a half wage required to work during mealtime or part of it, with the exception of an employee who is entitled to a higher rate before 26.01.17, may continue to receive this higher rate. In certain circumstances, Connecticut residents may be eligible for unemployment benefits while seeking alternative employment. You must confirm each week that you are unemployed to receive these benefits. See Connecticut State Unemployment Benefits. 30-minute lunch hour for employees who work shifts of more than 6 hours that extend over lunch.
Q: An employee asked to work all day without taking a lunch break. I thought Connecticut labor law required a meal break. Would we be breaking the law if we acceded to their request? A: Connecticut`s meal break law does not require meal breaks to be taken. While most states have additional laws that set the required meal times for underage employees under the age of 18, the Connecticut government has no such regulations. Does not apply to workplaces where fewer than 3 employees are on duty at the same time and the nature of the work allows these workers to take frequent paid breaks during the working day. Does not apply if collective bargaining or other written employer-employee agreements provide otherwise. 20 minutes for employees who work 6 hours or more in a workday. Apart from the meal break requirement, there is no obligation under federal or state law for employers to schedule additional breaks.
In practice, however, many employers offer short paid breaks during the day, even though there is no collective agreement that prescribes such breaks. Typically, employers offer one or two paid breaks of 10 to 15 minutes during a normal workday. During this time, the employee must be completely relieved of his duties: lunch at the office during subsequent work does not count. If an employer does not want to offer this lunch break, they must instead allow at least 30 minutes of paid breaks. exempts workers in the bakery wholesale trade who are subject to wage regulations of the Industrial Welfare Commission and who are subject to a valid collective agreement that provides for a 35-hour week with five days of 7 hours, with more than 7 hours per day more than 7 hours of working time paid 1 and 1/2 times the normal rate of pay, and a rest period of at least 10 minutes every 2 hours.